Oregon Increases Monthly Limit for Winery Direct-to-Consumer Permittees

On May 21, 2021, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed legislation (SB 406) increasing the amount of wine that a Direct Shipper permit is allowed to ship to an Oregon resident each month. Effective immediately, a winery with a valid Direct Shipper permit may ship up to five cases of wine, each containing not more than […]

Read More

States Enforce DTC Rules

The continued growth of the direct-to-consumer (DTC) sales channel means that states will continue to make DTC shipping laws a priority for enforcement in 2020. An increasing number of states are investigating DTC shipments and conducting compliance checks on direct shipper permit holders and common carriers. Wineries that ship directly to consumers outside of California […]

Read More

Fewer Reports for Oregon Direct-to-Consumer Shippers

Wineries licensed to ship to Oregon consumers will have fewer reports to file in 2016. On Jan. 1, 2016, new legislation, SB 583, transitioning Oregon from a monthly reporting state to a quarterly reporting state will become effective. The Oregon Liquor Control Commission intends to mail a notification of the reporting change to direct wine […]

Read More

Oregon Applications for Direct Shipping and Self-Distribution Are Available

On January 1, 2008 the legislation replacing Oregon’s reciprocity law with a permit system for the sale and shipment of wine directly from wineries will become effective. The new law requires wineries have a Direct Shipper Permit, pay an annual license fee of $50 and maintain a bond of at least $1000. Wineries with approved […]

Read More