State-by-State COVID-19 Guidance for ABC Licensees

To assist with winery sales and business operations, Wine Institute’s State Relations Team has compiled a listing of guidance for State ABC licensees in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. The new resource page is updated continuously as new information is released and changes impacting the sale and regulation of wine are implemented. Many of the […]

Read More

Tasting Samples for Virtual Winery Experiences Approved by TTB

In an effort to help stimulate DTC wine sales, Wine Institute requested that TTB and California ABC provide clear guidance on whether small containers of wine may be shipped to winery customers by common carriers for virtual tastings. During Shelter-in-Place orders, this would replace the traditional tasting room experience where visitors sample small quantities of […]

Read More

States Enforce DTC Rules

The continued growth of the direct-to-consumer (DTC) sales channel means that states will continue to make DTC shipping laws a priority for enforcement in 2020. An increasing number of states are investigating DTC shipments and conducting compliance checks on direct shipper permit holders and common carriers. Wineries that ship directly to consumers outside of California […]

Read More

New DTC Reporting Requirements in New Hampshire & Kansas

NEW HAMPSHIRE The State of New Hampshire has amended its rules relating to direct shipment to require any direct shipper permittee that uses the services of a fulfillment house to ship wine directly to NH consumers to include the name and address of the fulfillment house on their monthly report. In addition, direct shippers must […]

Read More

Kansas Issues Revenue Ruling & Amends License Term

Governor Parkinson of Kansas signed SB 452 into law, changing the license term for a Special Order Shipping license from one year to two years. The legislation became effective on July 1, 2010. The fee for a new special order shipping license was adjusted to $150 to reflect the new two year license term. Current […]

Read More

Kansas Direct Shipping Applications Available

Wineries may now apply for a Special Order Shipping License that allows them to ship off-site sales to Kansas consumers. (On-site sales do not require a Shipping License). The initial costs for the Special Order Shipping License include a $50 license fee and a $50 registration fee. The license will be valid for 1 year […]

Read More

Kansas Direct Shipping Application Update

Kansas formally transitions to a permit system for off-site sales on July 1, 2009. The Kansas Department of Revenue, Division of Alcohol Beverage Control has announced that its applications are expected to become available on that day. Forms and instructions will be posted on the Wine Institute and the Kansas Division of Alcohol web sites. […]

Read More

KS Allows Off-Site DTC Wine Shipments

The Governor of Kansas signed Senate Bill 212 into law on April 20, 2009. The new law allows in-state and out-of-state wineries to obtain a “Special Order Shipping License” and make off-site wine shipments directly to consumers in Kansas beginning July 1, 2009. Off-site wine shipments include any phone, fax or internet orders from a […]

Read More

Kansas’ Limited Direct-to-Consumer Shipping Law

Governor Kathleen Sebelius on May 23, 2006 signed a DTC shipping bill in KANSAS that gives us only half of what we were seeking. This was an extremely hard-fought battle in a state that had previously banned all DTC shipments. Unfortunately, the success Chuck McGrigg and our local lobbyists had in passing our version of […]

Read More