Increased Enforcement of Age Verification for DTC Sales

Members are advised that the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC) is conducting minimum purchase age compliance checks on DTC license holders through the end of the calendar year. Many other states have also made DTC shipping laws and regulations an enforcement priority and are conducting active investigations. The best practice for consumer age verification […]

Read More

Alaska Governor Signs DTC Legislation

Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy signed comprehensive alcohol reform legislation (SB 9) into law on June 16, 2022, which provides for limited, regulated, tax-paid wine shipping by wineries of all sizes in the United States that obtain a license from the Alaska Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC) board. This omnibus bill was the culmination of 10 years […]

Read More

Colorado DTC Shipments Subject to Retail Delivery Fee

Starting July 1, 2022, wineries that ship wines to consumers in Colorado must collect a $0.27 retail delivery fee on each retail sales transaction that involves delivery by a motor vehicle. The fee will apply to DTC wine shipments because it is considered a retail sale of tangible personal property subject to the state sales […]

Read More

Wineries Encouraged to Ensure Use of Correct Forms and Filing Methods

More and more states are moving to electronic filing of taxes, reports and applications for licenses and license renewals. With the end of the fiscal year looming, now is a good time for wineries to confirm they are using the correct forms and proper filing method in various states.   In Virginia, for example, on January 1, […]

Read More

Requirements for New TN DTC Licenses and Renewals

Wine Institute has learned that Tennessee has increased enforcement of a regulatory requirement for new DTC licenses and renewals to provide proof of business registration with the TN Secretary of State. We have been working with the TN ABC on this issue and they now intend to amend the direct shipping rules to remove the […]

Read More

Tennessee Fulfillment House License Application for DTC Available

The Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) has made available the online application for its new Fulfillment House License. The license is required of any company taking physical possession of or handling logistics on behalf of a winery direct shipper, including warehousing, packaging, order fulfillment or delivering to a common carrier for shipment to a consumer. […]

Read More

Applications Available for New Ohio DTC Permit for Larger Wineries

In response to Wine Institute’s request for an update on the new permit allowing wineries producing 250,000 gallons to ship wine into Ohio, the Ohio Division of Liquor Control has provided the following information: “Effective 9/30/2021, the S permit will be split into the S-1 and S-2. The S-1 permit is essentially the current S […]

Read More

Texas Permit Fee Changes, Effective Sept. 1 

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) has approved a new license and permit fee structure that will become effective on Sept. 1, 2021, and includes a change in the Out-of-State Winery Direct Shipper and Nonresident Seller permit fees. After several discussions between TABC and Wine Institute, TABC proposed a new, significantly lower fee for the DTC […]

Read More

Alabama Releases DTC License Application Forms for Wineries and Fulfillment Houses 

The Alabama ABC Board has released its new DTC pre-application form and required document checklist for obtaining licenses to become a direct wine shipper or wine fulfillment center.  The forms are complex and Wine Institute is currently working with the ABC Board to see if some of the requirements can be streamlined to simplify the application process.  […]

Read More

Missouri Sales Tax Changes for DTC; Reminder on Monthly Shipment Limitation

Missouri Gov. Michael Parson signed legislation that will require out-of-state businesses, including California wineries that ship DTC wine sales into Missouri, to collect and remit sales tax if taxable sales from delivery of tangible personal property into Missouri in the previous calendar year or current calendar year exceeds $100,000 beginning Jan. 1, 2023. Until then, wineries with […]

Read More