The Oklahoma Direct Wine Shipper’s Permit Application is now available on the Oklahoma ABLE Commission website, the result of several years of effort on the part of Wine Institute and its allies.
In 2016, Oklahomans passed a ballot measure changing the way the state regulates alcohol. The ballot measure also made allowance for the direct shipment of wine to Oklahoma consumers and the 2016 Oklahoma Legislature enacted laws governing DTC wine shipments. The Oklahoma Legislature made significant improvements to those laws in 2017 and 2018 and the new direct shipping laws take effect on Oct. 1, 2018.
Starting Oct. 1, holders of a Direct Wine Shipper’s Permit may ship up to six nine-liter cases of wine per year to an Oklahoma consumer. The cost for the initial permit is $300 with renewals costing $150 per year. In addition to obtaining a permit, a winery must register with the Oklahoma Tax Commission, remit sales or use and excise taxes on wine shipped to Oklahoma consumers and file an annual direct shipment report with the ABLE Commission.
Once the new laws take effect, the federal on-site provision will no longer apply to consumers in Oklahoma, and wineries that do not hold a Wine Shipper’s Permit will be prohibited from making on- or off-site shipments to Oklahoma consumers under any circumstances.
More details and links to the forms are on the Oklahoma page of Wine Institute’s website.