The new Direct Wine Shipper License application and Direct Wine Shipper License Advisory for Massachusetts are now available on Wine Institute’s website: http://wineinstitute.shipcompliant.com/Home.aspx?SaleTypeID=1 (click on MA on map) and the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC) website: http://www.mass.gov/abcc/. The new permit law replaces the existing unworkable direct shipping law in its entirety. Under the new permit law, a winery holding a federal basic permit may obtain a Direct Wine Shipper License and ship up to 12 cases of wine per year to an adult resident of Massachusetts for personal use. The initial license fee is $300, with subsequent renewals costing $150 annually. In addition, direct shippers are required to register with the MA Department of Revenue to pay excise tax. The new statute goes into effect Jan. 1, 2015.
It is expected to take approximately four weeks for applications to be approved. Wineries may NOT engage in any “sales activities” prior to Jan. 1, 2015 (or before their license is approved.) Please click on this link for instructions on how to complete the application process. Questions about application requirements should be directed to Ralph Sacramone of the ABCC at 617/727-3040 ext. 731 or Annie Bones at Wine Institute firstname.lastname@example.org.