- Required: Yes
- Fee: $50
- Expiration:June 30th of each year
Percentage Mark-Up Required
- Tax on Shipping:No
- Required: No
Limits per Winery
- 36 liters in any 12-month period per household address
- Required: Yes
- Mark-Up Tax: Monthly by the 10th
- Direct Shipment: Monthly by the 10th
- Record Retention: At least 3 years
- ONLY wines produced by the permittee may be sold and shipped to consumers
- ONLY product labels NOT listed with the WY Liquor Division may be sold and shipped to consumers
Prior to sending any shipment to any household or licensed retailer in Wyoming, wineries must obtain obtain an out-of-state shipper’s license from the Department of Revenue Liquor Division.
- Direct shipper’s must remit a “mark-up” tax of twelve percent of the retail price of each wine shipment.
- Ensure all shipping containers are conspicuously labeled “CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES. ADULT (OVER 21) SIGNATURE REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY.”
Legislation (H 47) increasing the direct-to-consumer volume limit from 2 to 4 cases per household per year became effective on July 1, 2015. In addition, the Wyoming Liquor Division has said that as of July 1, 2015 wineries must suspend DTC shipments of any products that are currently listed with the Division. Prior to July 1, 2015 the exclusion of products listed with the Division only applied to out-of-state wine shippers selling directly to retail accounts. Wine Institute is attempting to resolve the issue and will keep members informed as we try and work through to a solution.
Wyoming and Arkansas Amend Direct-to-Consumer LawsMarch 26, 2015
The Governor of Wyoming signed H47 into law on Feb. 25, 2015, doubling the amount of wine a licensed direct shipper can ship to any one address during a 12-month period from 18 liters (2 cases) to 36 liters (4 cases). The bill becomes effective on July 1, 2015. Prior to sending any direct shipment … Read More ⟶
6601 Campstool Road
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0110
Phone: (307) 777-7120