- Required: Yes
- Fee: $200
- Expiration:2 yrs from issue date
- Tax on Shipping:Yes
- Required: Yes
- Wine ≤ 14%: $.06605/liters
- Wine >14% – 21%: $.1189/liters
Limits per Winery
- 12 cases per person per year
- Sales Tax: Annually by Jan 31st
- Excise Tax: Quarterly by the 15th
- Direct Shipment: Quarterly by the 15th
- Record Retention: At least 4 years
Beginning October 1, 2008, wineries are required to have a valid Wine Direct Shipper permit in order to ship to consumers in Wisconsin. Permit holders may ship up to 12 cases to a WI consumer annually. The permit fee is $100 each year and follows a two year renewal schedule. Additionally, there is a $20 Business Tax Registration (BTR) fee and a minimum bond of $1000 is required. Direct Shippers must register to pay sales and excise taxes.
- Direct Shipment Reports must include the birthdate of the purchaser and the person receiving the wine.
- Containers of wine shipped to an individual in this state shall be clearly labeled to indicate that the package may not be delivered to an underage person or to an intoxicated person.
States Enforce DTC RulesFebruary 6, 2020
The continued growth of the direct-to-consumer (DTC) sales channel means that states will continue to make DTC shipping laws a priority for enforcement in 2020. An increasing number of states are investigating DTC shipments and conducting compliance checks on direct shipper permit holders and common carriers. Wineries that ship directly to consumers outside of California … Read More ⟶
Mail Stop 6-107
PO Box 8900
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-6701