- Required: Yes
- Fee: $938
- Expiration:June 30th of each year
- Tax on Shipping:Yes
- Required: Yes
- Wine: $.875/gal
Limits per Winery
- Year:12 cases per person
- Sales Tax: Quarterly by the 20th
- Excise Tax: Bi-Monthly by the 15th
- Direct Shipment: Annually by March 20th
- Record Retention: At least 3 years
Label Registration Required
- Registration Fee:$23 per label
- Expiration: Dec. 31st of each year
- If a brand is already registered for wholesale, the DTC licensee must be added to the registration
- UPC codes and/or COLA numbers required, effective 1/1/23
- ONLY wines produced by the permittee may be sold and shipped to consumers.
Direct Shipping allowed only by a winery producing not more than 250,000 gallons annually that has a valid New Jersey Out-of-State Winery License.
- Licensees cannot produce more than 250,000 gallons of wine per year and cannot own, either in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, any interest in a winery that produces more than 250,000 gallons per year.
- Brands must be registered in NJ prior to being sold/shipped to consumers. New brand registrations and renewals submitted after Jan 1, 2023 must include UPC codes and/or TTB COLA numbers (see alert).
- Out-of-state corporations must establish nexus in New Jersey in order to hold a NJ direct shipper’s license, and are subject to additional taxes, fees and filing requirements.
- Business entities must register to do business in NJ and maintain a “Registered Agent” in the State of New Jersey.
- As of 9/26/16, all wine shippers will be charged the $938 fee for new licenses and renewals as required by statute.
Jan. 16 New Jersey Brand Registration DeadlineJanuary 12, 2023
All New Jersey product/brand registrations expired on Dec. 31, 2022. Products not renewed by Jan. 16, 2023, will automatically expire and unregistered brands may not be sold in that state. The state Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) was expected to change its registration and renewal process on Jan. 1, 2023, to REQUIRE UPC codes … Read More ⟶